Thoughts on Information Finding

Reflections and reblogs

Guest Post: Why am I getting my MLIS? Because I have to.


Susan:

The library is changing. It has to change to remain relevant. The MLS degree needs to change along with it.

Originally posted on Agnostic, Maybe:

When I tell people I’m in graduate school studying to be a librarian, I receive the response, “You need a Master’s degree for that?” I find myself struggling to defend it. Librarians do more than what the average person realizes, but how much of that is really gained through the MLS? I usually wind up confessing it is like a stamp to gain entry a nightclub. I’ve been advised countless times by librarians that your coursework doesn’t really matter, but your experience does. I agree that there is no teacher greater than experience, but isn’t this a huge flaw in our profession’s degree? This is also disheartening for me because the first word I’ve used to describe myself most of my life is “student.” I like being in the classroom. I want to learn. I want more degree to mean more than a stamp or a merit badge.

I agree…

View original 1,033 more words

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 723 other followers

