Thoughts on Information Finding

Reflections and reblogs

My Blogging Voice


I found the Synthetic Librarian Blog recently and he got me thinking – what is MY blogging “voice?”

I started this blog as part of a class assignment. Over the ensuing months, this blog has evolved, as has my personal voice. My concentration in the MLS program is information technology – an obvious choice given my background in software development and an undergrad degree in computer science. I am especially interested in ways to improve information gathering and structure, such as semantic web programming and the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative. I have enjoyed working with the open source content management system Drupal and pondering its Web 2.0 potential for libraries. I see the open source software movement (Deek, 1), with its peer review process, as the perfect companion to the library’s  philosophy of free information exchange.

In short, I am interested in the evolution of librarianship from library 1.0 to library 2.0 to library 3.0.

I have been surprised to see that I have had replies from people outside of this class, and it has encouraged me greatly.  I have never been one to journal my thoughts, but this process has helped me academically. I plan to continue to blog.

To be continued…

Deek, F. P., and McHugh, J. A. M. Open source: technology and policy. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008

2 responses to “My Blogging Voice

  1. Brian December 18, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Great job on your blog! I’m really glad that you’re planning to continue blogging.

  2. trucos January 5, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    I cannot believe this is true!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 723 other followers

